2010 Fletcher Jones art prize
24 July 2010 to 12 September 2010

An exhibition of selected entries submitted from around Australia for this $30,000 acquisitive painting award.

Fletcher Jones has generously sponsored the event that assists with the development of the Gallery's contemporary collection.

The 2010 Fletcher Jones art prize was awarded to Tim McMonagle for his work, The happy song (2009). McMonagle's work was inspired by the languid demeanour of a homeless woman observed by the artist while on a residency in New York in 2008-09, McMonagle's painting depicts a dishevelled, barefoot figure reclining on a vast and bulbous mound representing her worldly possessions. Discarded high heel shoes and a plastic drinking cup are positioned in the foreground: symbols of the consumer culture from which she is seemingly displaced.      

Reminiscent of the social satire of 18th and early-19th century British artists such as William Hogarth, Thomas Rowlandson and James Gillray, McMonagle's ‘dream-like' composition offers a contemporary parallel to the social commentaries of these earlier artists.    

Using the square format that has become a signature of the artist's practice, the work is rendered in a severe mono-tonal palette, the sepia tint emphasising McMonagle's strong drafting skills. Thick impastoed paint, juxtaposed with light, almost scumbled passages test the possibilities of the oil medium.    

Shortlisted artists: Stephen Benwell, Fergus Binns, Jamie Boys, Mostyn Bramley-Moore, Angela Brennan, Robert Clinch, Brett Colquhoun, Yvette Coppersmith, Steve Cox, Peter Daverington, Mark Dober, Chonggang Du, Craig Easton, Helga Groves, Katherine Hattam, Grant Hill, Stevan Jacks, Jennifer Joseph, Dena Kahan, Gladdy Kemarre, Josie Kunoth Petyarre, Richard Lewer, Tony Lloyd, Jess Lucas, Stewart MacFarlane, Darren McDonald, Andrew Mezei, Scott Miles, Jason Moad, Jonathan Nichols, David Palliser, Adam Pyett, David Ralph, Victoria Reichelt, Reko Rennie, Jackson Slattery, Bryan Spier, Nathan Taylor, Savanhdary Vongpoothorn, Bradd Westmoreland and Stephen Wickham.

Exhibition Sponsor