Kate Beynon Graveyard scene/the beauty and sadness of bones  2014–15, synthetic polymer paint on linen, Courtesy of the artist and Sutton Gallery, Melbourne

2016 Geelong contemporary art prize

10 September to 13 November 2016


The 2016 Geelong contemporary art prize is a signature event that assists with the development of the Gallery’s collection while fostering Australian artists and contemporary painting practice in general. 

Showcasing the best of contemporary Australian painting practice, this $30,000 acquisitive award and biennial exhibition will feature 33 works by Penelope Aitken, Robert Andrew, Xiao Bai, Kate Beynon, Warren Breninger, Hector Burton, Deidre But-Husaim, Magda Cebokli, Trevelyan Clay, Jonathan Crowther, Marieke Dench, Shaun Gladwell, Julia Gorman, Michael Gromm, Marie Hagerty, Peter Hill, Naomi Hobson, David Jolly, Col Jordan, Ash Keating, Chris Langlois, Donna Lougher, Viv Miller, Jennifer Mills, Jan Murray, John Nixon, Rosslynd Piggott, Adam Pyett, Sally Ross, Brad Rusbridge, Huseyin Sami, Kate Tucker and Jurek Wybraniec.

The selection panel for the 2016 Geelong contemporary art prize includes guest judge, Victoria Lynn
(Director, Tarrawarra Museum of Modern Art) along with Jason Smith (Director, Geelong Gallery) and
Lisa Sullivan (Curator, Geelong Gallery).

Exhibition sponsors