Andrew Browne
The awakening  2017
oil on linen
Reproduced courtesy of the artist and Tolarno Galleries, Melbourne

Fiona McMonagle
Princess  2017
oil on linen
Reproduced courtesy of the artist and Sophie Gannon Gallery, Melbourne

2018 Geelong contemporary art prize

09 June 2018 to 19 August 2018

Geelong Gallery is delighted to announce that 36 works by leading and emerging Australian artists have been shortlisted for the 2018 Geelong contemporary art prize.

Showcasing the best of contemporary Australian painting practice, this $30,000 acquisitive award and biennial exhibition will feature works by Natasha Bieniek, Seth Birchall, Amber Boardman, Andrew Browne, Jon Campbell, Nancy Constandelia, Yvette Coppersmith, Ann Debono, Troy Emery, Emily Ferretti, Patrick Francis, Nyarapayi Giles, Peter Graham, Camille Hannah, Katherine Hattam, Euan Heng, Gregory Hodge, Carissa Karamarko, Madeleine Kelly, Mason Kimber, Anna Kristensen, Darren McDonald, Laith McGregor, Fiona McMonagle, Amanda Marburg, Sam Martin, Tully Moore, Jan Murray, Louise Paramor, Sally Ross, Huseyin Sami, Andrew Taylor, Kate Tucker, Sharon West, Bradd Westmoreland and Alice Wormald.

Justin Paton, Head Curator, International Art, Art Gallery of New South Wales, and Rebecca Coates, Director, Shepparton Art Museum, joined Lisa Sullivan, Senior Curator, Geelong Gallery, in judging this year’s award.

The recipient of the $30,000 acquisitive 2018 Geelong contemporary art prize will be announced on the evening
of Friday 8 June.