

Media Release

Media Contact

Miranda Brown T: 0491 743 610

E: miranda@mbpublicity.com.au

2021 Geelong contemporary art prize shortlist announced



Black river running #13 2019 oil on linen Reproduced courtesy of the artist and Anna Schwartz Gallery, Melbourne

Geelong Gallery is delighted to announce that 28 works by leading and emerging Australian artists have been shortlisted for the 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize.

Showcasing the best of contemporary Australian painting practice, this \$30,000 acquisitive award and biennial exhibition will feature works by Brett Colquhoun, Jason Cordero, Greg Creek, Jonathan Crowther, Carolyn Eskdale, Diena Georgetti, Julia Gorman, Peter Graham, Helga Groves, Pei Pei He, Linda Judge, Mark McCarthy, Laith McGregor, Jennifer Mills, Jan Murray, Jan Nelson, Rose Nolan, Stieg Persson, Rosslynd Piggott, Bundit Puangthong, Jo Reitze, Norm Stanley, Guy Stuart, Andrew Taylor, Nat Ward, Jenny Watson, Louise Weaver and Peter Westwood.

Selected from over 600 entries from around the country, the 28 shortlisted works for the 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize reflect the sophistication and rich diversity of contemporary Australian painting. The shortlist represents a number of artists new to the selection panel alongside some of the country's most acclaimed practitioners, whose work continues to evolve in its relevance to art, culture and life today.

The selection panel for the 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize includes Eminent art historians and curators, Jenepher Duncan and Grazia Gunn and Geelong Gallery Director & CEO, Jason Smith.

Geelong Gallery thanks the **Dimmick** Charitable Trust for generously supporting this event, which assists with the development of the Gallery's collection while fostering Australian artists and contemporary painting practice in general.

Background

The 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize continues a long tradition of prize exhibitions staged by the Geelong Gallery. From the late-1930s, the Gallery has awarded acquisitive prizes variously for paintings, watercolours and prints, sponsored by a variety of individuals and corporate supporters.

In the mid-1990s, the Geelong Art Gallery Foundation established a contemporary painting prize—the Geelong contemporary art prize—with the aim of showcasing the work of contemporary Australian practitioners and enriching the Gallery's collection of contemporary Australian art through the acquisition of a winning work.

From 2004-10 the prize was restyled as the Fletcher Jones art prize in acknowledgement of the sponsorship of Fletcher Jones. In 2012, with the generous support of the Dimmick Charitable Trust, the award returned to Geelong contemporary art prize.

Over the past 17 years, works by **Andrew** Browne (2018), Kate Beynon (2016), Rob McHaffie (2014), Paul Ryan (2012), Tim McMonagle (2010), Nadine Christensen (2008), Sam Leach (2006) and Juan Ford (2004) have been acquired through this nationally significant painting prize.

The 2020 Geelong contemporary art prize was postponed due to COVID-19.

Official announcement

Friday 28 May, 6.00pm for 6.30pm

The recipient of the \$30,000 acquisitive 2021 Geelong contemporary art prize will be announced on the evening of Friday 28 May. To reserve a media pass contact Miranda Brown Publicity.

Exhibition partner

Dimmick Charitable Trust







