Media Release

## 2022 Geelong Contemporary Art Prize shortlist announced



Fiona McMonagle For most of history Anonymous was a woman 2021 watercolour, ink and gouache on paper Courtesy of the artist and Sophie Gannon Gallery, Melbourne



Chris Bond Rote Kins 2020 oil on linen Courtesy of the artist and THIS IS NO FANTASY, Melbourne

Geelong Gallery is delighted to announce that 28 works by leading and emerging Australian artists have been shortlisted for the 2022 Geelong Contemporary Art Prize.

Showcasing the best of contemporary Australian painting practice, this \$30,000 acquisitive award and biennial exhibition will feature works by Clara Adolphs, Benjamin Armstrong, Darcey Bella Arnold, Chris Bond, Stephen Bram, Renee Cosgrave, Greg Creek, Sarah crowEST, Ann Debono, Lucy Fahey, Janet Forbes, Katherine Hattam, Naomi Hobson, Anna Hoyle, Dane Lovett, Fiona McMonagle, Jordan Marani, Sam Martin, Jennifer Mills, Tully Moore, Tom Polo, Victoria Reichelt, Steven Rendall, Brian Robinson, Huseyin Sami, Georgia Spain, Judith Van Heeren and Alice Wormald.

Selected from over 400 entries from around the country, the 28 shortlisted works for the 2022 Geelong Contemporary Art Prize reflect the sophistication and rich diversity of contemporary Australian painting. The shortlist includes a number of artists who will be exhibited for the first time in Geelong Gallery's acclaimed painting prize, alongside artists whose practices will be well-known to audiences. Collectively, the stylistic approaches and thematic range of the 28 shortlisted artists reflects the currency and relevance of painting today.

The selection panel for the 2022 Geelong Contemporary Art Prize includes University of Melbourne Senior Academic Programs Curator, Museums & Collections, Kyla McFarlane, McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery Director, Lisa Byrne, and Geelong Gallery Senior Curator, Lisa Sullivan.

Geelong Gallery thanks the **Dimmick Charitable Trust** for generously supporting this event, which assists with the development of the Gallery's collection while fostering Australian artists and contemporary painting practice in general.

## Background

The 2022 Geelong Contemporary Art Prize continues a long tradition of prize exhibitions staged by the Geelong Gallery. From the late-1930s, the Gallery has awarded acquisitive prizes variously for paintings, watercolours and prints, sponsored by a variety of individuals and corporate supporters.

In the mid-1990s, the Geelong Art Gallery Foundation established a contemporary painting prize—the *Geelong Contemporary Art Prize*—with the aim of showcasing the work of contemporary Australian practitioners and enriching the Gallery's collection of contemporary Australian art through the acquisition of a winning work.

From 2004–10 the prize was restyled as the *Fletcher Jones Art Prize* in acknowledgement of the sponsorship of Fletcher Jones. In 2012, with the generous support of the Dimmick Charitable Trust, the award returned to *Geelong Contemporary Art Prize*.

Over the past 17 years, works by Diena Georgetti (2021), Andrew Browne (2018), Kate Beynon (2016), Rob McHaffie (2014), Paul Ryan (2012), Tim McMonagle (2010), Nadine Christensen (2008), Sam Leach (2006) and Juan Ford (2004) have been acquired through this nationally significant painting prize.

## Official announcement

Friday 15 July, 6.00pm for 6.30pm

The recipient of the \$30,000 acquisitive 2022 Geelong Contemporary Art Prize will be announced on the evening of Friday 15 July. To reserve a media pass contact Miranda Brown Publicity.

## Exhibition partner

Dimmick Charitable Trust

