

Media Release

Media contacts Holly Fenton

E: holly@geelonggallery.org.au

2023 Geelong Acquisitive Print Awards shortlist announced



Christopher Orr Served bold 2023 digital print (printed by CPL) Courtesy of the artist



The pinch 2022 woodblock (printed by Martin King & Simon White) edition 4/15 Courtesy of the artist and Australian Print Workshop

Works by 28 leading and emerging artists have been shortlisted for the 2023 Geelong Acquisitive Print Awards, selected from around Australia.

Congratulations to Loique Allain, Emma Armstrong-Porter, Elizabeth Banfield, Gavin Brown, Hannah Caprice, Marian Crawford, Lana de Jager, Matt Feder, Ben Fennessy, Richard Harding, Katherine Hattam, Bridget Hillebrand, Anita lacovella, Anita Laurence, Christopher Orr, Kat Parker, Jim Pavlidis, Stephanie Radok, Brian Robinson, Jessica Row, John Ryrie, Olga Sankey, Glen Smith, Melissa Smith, Andrew Taylor, Peter Ward, Kylie Watson and Helen Wright.

In representing some of the country's finest artists, this exhibition will provide a particular survey of contemporary printmaking, and current approaches to subject matter, genre, and formal and conceptual diversity.

In the works shortlisted for the 2023 exhibition, we see deeply thoughtprovoking responses to the natural world, history and culture, geopolitics and world events, everyday objects, portraits, feminism, and explorations of colour and form through abstraction.

The 2023 award judges were Independent Curator & Writer, Kirsty Grant, Geelong Gallery Director & CEO, Jason Smith and Geelong Gallery Senior Curator, Lisa Sullivan.

We thank each artist for their work and exceptional vision.

Geelong Gallery thanks Colin Holden Charitable Trust and the Ursula Hoff institute for generously supporting this exhibition and contributing to Geelong Gallery's collection of prints.

-ENDS-

Background

The 2023 Geelong Acquisitive Print Awards continues a tradition of prize exhibitions staged by Geelong Gallery and reflect a longstanding commitment to the acquisition and display of prints.

Through the Geelong Acquisitive Print Award of \$10,000, and the Ursula Hoff Institute Award of \$5,000 Geelong Gallery has acquired works by established and emerging printmakers, including Dianne Fogwell (2021), Teho Ropeyarn (2019), Brian Robinson (2019), Claire Humphries (2017), Sophie Cape (2015), Deidre Brollo (2015), Lisa Roet (2013) and Travis Paterson (2013).

Official announcement

Friday 28 July, 6.00pm for 6.30pm.

The recipient of the \$10,000 acquisitive 2023 Geelong Acquisitive Print Awards and the \$5,000 Ursula Hoff Institute Award will be announced on the evening of Friday 28 July.

Exhibition partners

Colin Holden Charitable Trust









